The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Flies

Flies Questions about flies. What flies work and don't work. Complete fly talk...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2008, 03:41 PM

ab4usa is on a distinguished road
Default How many for a rookie?

I'm just starting out. I need to buy flies. I have been through a book about fly fishing in my area (Maryland) and have a list of 16 or 17 different patterns in 2 to 3 sizes for each pattern. That's 32 to 51 flies if I just buy one of each. Not to mention a couple that I can't find. So how many do I buy? One of each? 2? There is one web site where you buy a dozen at a time. While their prices look great, the start up cost is daunting. Any help would be appreciated.
Old 03-31-2008, 03:55 PM

Greenwood will become famous soon enoughGreenwood will become famous soon enough
Default Re: How many for a rookie?

I don't envy you having to start from scratch. But, I'd think 3 of a given size/pattern would be a good starting point. You know - 1 to lose, 1 to fish with and 1 for the backup in case that's the only thing working that day!
Old 03-31-2008, 05:23 PM
Super Moderator

BigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant future

If you can tell us what species you're after and what type of water you're fishing, I bet we could accurately recommend 5 flies you could take 3 each of and be set up well.

Whether 15 gets you through the day depends on your casting ability, of course.

I'd rather hunt fish than bait deer any day.
Old 03-31-2008, 10:01 PM