The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Flies (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/flies/)
-   -   Contoversy re: egg patterns (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/flies/744-contoversy-re-egg-patterns.html)

chuck145 12-10-2005 12:12 AM

Contoversy re: egg patterns

I was reading discussion on another forum regarding the ethics of fly fishing using egg patterns. What are they talking about and why would it be an ethics issue? Bear with me guys. I'm new at this. BTW, I like this forum much better.

fshfanatic 12-10-2005 11:19 AM

Re: Contoversy re: egg patterns

You must be talking about UTOTF they are always whining about something over there.

Using egg patterns is no more unethical than using SJW's during high water.

chuck145 12-10-2005 12:16 PM

Thanks for the reply; but, I still need to know what egg patterns are and now I need to know what SJW's are. I have a LL Bean fly fishing book coming for Christmas. Hopefully that will alleviate some of my dumb questions.

easternflyfisher 12-10-2005 01:46 PM

well an egg pattern is a glo bug. basically trout roe.

SJW are san juan worms. worms that are red in color(although they make in many different colors) and are very effective.

hope that answered your question.

Curtis 12-10-2005 07:11 PM

Fanatic is right. Many people will cry about a certain fly not being "politically correct" enough for the fly rod. Yeah, right.

A glo bug or egg fly is as much a fly as many others. It is usually tied with a piece of yarn in the shape of an egg on the hook though they do come tied with a bead or hot glue. They are very effective during the spawn when you want to target the fish below the spawners who are gobbling up the stray eggs.

The san juan worm is also a very productive fly that imitates many natural insects found floating in the water column, especially during the run off when worms get drug into the stream.