The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Flies

Flies Questions about flies. What flies work and don't work. Complete fly talk...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-16-2010, 05:42 PM

jessie2702 is on a distinguished road
Default Any fly suggestions for newb

I am new to fly fishing and this forum and I was wondering if anyone from Oklahoma was on this forum to give me some good starting out fly advice. Just the few basics flies that you always have luck with around oklahoma around this time of year. Thanks in advance.
Old 12-16-2010, 11:53 PM
Super Moderator/Fly Swap Coordinator

peregrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Any fly suggestions for newb

Hey Jessie, welcome to the forum. What kind of fish will you be chasing? --- There's lots of smallmouth, largemouth, panfish and carp fishing you can do as well as trout fishing in the Blue, Broken Bow and Lower illinois.

If you're going to fish for trout, you might want to check in a local fly shop like Three Rivers Fly Shop Three Rivers Fly Shop - Broken Bow, OK in Broken Bow OK. They can help with some good suggestions based on recent conditions ( water levels, temperature, and recent hatches) and can also give you some pointers on techniques, rigging and where to go.