The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Flies

Flies Questions about flies. What flies work and don't work. Complete fly talk...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By tie one on

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2006, 03:06 PM

BamaJack will become famous soon enoughBamaJack will become famous soon enough
Exclamation How to Know Most Flies, Nymphs, etc

Do any of you know of a Poster (that has good pictures) or some other way that a Novice like me can get to know what all these flies, wet and dry, look like? I know some but there are a whole bunch you all refer to. That way when someone talks about them I would know what they are talking about. Years ago, I think it was in North Carolina, I saw a large Poster that had about 100 good color drawings of the more common dry and wet flies and perhaps nymphs. Anyway I have a bunch of flies, but don't know what some of them are - yes I am still a novice BUT that is about to change this Spring!! Any help would be appreciated.

BamaJack, my first post
ps. I am really enjoying the Fly Fishing Forum - just joined.
Old 02-13-2006, 10:43 AM

tie one on will become famous soon enoughtie one on will become famous soon enough
Default Re: How to Know Most Flies, Nymphs, etc

Glad to see another newbie :-) Welcome. And by the way you are correct about this website. I have throughly enjoyed all of the responses to the "threads" I've posted & ones I have read by others. I don't ever remember seeing a poster like that anywhere. You might want to check on Google.