The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Flies

Flies Questions about flies. What flies work and don't work. Complete fly talk...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2009, 10:26 PM

Red Owl has a spectacular aura aboutRed Owl has a spectacular aura about
Default Bead head Nymphs, etc

I'm probably dating myself back to the stone age but is there any advantage of a bead head fly over the traditional patterns?
Old 04-10-2009, 10:40 PM

HookEmHorns will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Bead head Nymphs, etc

Hey Red Owl,

I am not an expert by any means, but as far as I could think, I would say that the bead head would be to make the nymphs and such sink faster and possibly produce a little flash to catch the fish's eye a bit more.
I am sure that there is more to it than that, but I don't know either I guess. lol

Hope it helps at least a little bit! haha. I look forward to seeing if there is more to it as well.

HookEmHorns
Old 04-10-2009, 11:05 PM

KRD will become famous soon enough

I'm not sure there is any other advantage other than the sink rate. But I do fish BH almost exclusively. I am just to impatient for the non BH bugger to sink.
Old 04-11-2009, 07:03 AM

arfishinbear has much to be proud ofarfishinbear has much to be proud ofarfishinbear has much to be proud ofarfishinbear has much to be proud ofarfishinbear has much to be proud ofarfishinbear has much to be proud ofarfishinbear has much to be proud ofarfishinbear has much to be proud ofarfishinbear has much to be proud of

Thats pretty much it, sink rate and flash. There have been a few times fishing gill's that I have started with a black nymph with a lead wire on the hook and didnt have mnay takers, but when I switched to the same fly with a copper bead head they tore it up. I have also seen times trout fishing with wooly buggers that, that little bit of flash made a diffrence on catching fish.