The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > The Fly Cast

The Fly Cast Discuss fly casting with the expert, ask for help, learn to cast farther, increase your accuracy, troubleshoot your cast.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-20-2009, 08:46 AM

ant is a splendid one to beholdant is a splendid one to beholdant is a splendid one to beholdant is a splendid one to beholdant is a splendid one to beholdant is a splendid one to beholdant is a splendid one to behold
Default a question on casting

I'm new to fly fishing and have been having issues with my leader when I cast. I can get the line fairly straight, but my leader stays coiled up. Is there an issue with my cast or did I just get cheap leader(which I did.) What way could I fix this?
Old 07-20-2009, 08:59 AM

randyflycaster is a name known to allrandyflycaster is a name known to allrandyflycaster is a name known to allrandyflycaster is a name known to allrandyflycaster is a name known to allrandyflycaster is a name known to all
Default Re: a question on casting

You probably don't have enough power on your cast. There are many reason for this, one of which could be you're not stopping your forward cast abrubtly enough.

Randy
Old 07-20-2009, 09:02 AM
Super Moderator

BigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant future

It sounds like your cast is underpowered. Straightening out your leader should also help it. This is done best by a combination of stretching it and pulling it through your clasped hand to warm it up a bit via friction.

I'd rather hunt fish than bait deer any day.
Old 07-20-2009, 10:41 AM
Administrator