Casting Help New Rod

gamecock

Reaction score
Ok keep in mind I'm new to fly fishing. I bought an 8 wt orvis clearwater II tip flex back at Christmas and lined it with an 8 wt WF line. I can consistently and somewhat accurately sling it 60-75 feet and have started working on my double haul with some success. I feel pretty good about that rod but know I still need practice.
My problem is I bought a temple fork pro series 5 wt and lined it with a 5 wt WF rio gold line. I cant figure out how to cast this setup to save my life. Here's my crude explanation of what's going on.

With the 8 wt I can feel the weight of the line behind me in the back cast and have a feel for when to stop and start the forward cast.

But with the 5 wt it's like it's not heavy enough for me to feel the backcast when it gets to that point. It feels more like I'm throwing a bream buster or cane pole with a mono line with no weight on the end. It's like there's no beef in the back cast and I end up whiffing the forward cast. Any idea what's going on?

I start out with as much line in front of me as I do with the 8 wt. Do I need to be starting with more line out of the rod with the 5 wt since the line is lighter?

Right now when I cast the first 15-20 feet of line lays out pretty straight but the rest bunches up at the end. I can use a double haul and make it better but I don't think I should have to double haul a 5 wt line to get it to go 40 feet.

Anybody have any suggestions?

Davo

Reaction score
This is kind of tough to diagnose. Your rods line weight difference is one factor. An 8wt and a 5wt are significantly different. Also the flex of your rods are different. The Clearwater is a fast action rod and the TFO is a med-fast action rod. Since you are not having problems with the Faster rod my guess is you are over powering the other. Slow your casting stroke down just a bit. Let the rod do the work.