The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > The Fly Cast

The Fly Cast Discuss fly casting with the expert, ask for help, learn to cast farther, increase your accuracy, troubleshoot your cast.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2011, 02:07 PM

acoustic is on a distinguished road
Default Tangled Tippets

Hey everyone. I'm very new to fly casting. When practicing at the casting pools, after about an hour or so I notice that my tippet has tangled further up on the line and leader. Sometimes this gets pretty bad - it winds around it and makes this huge mess of almost seated knots that takes forever to undo. Any tips on how to prevent this (besides the obvious of not casting like an idiot haha)? Are there some tips to help beginners avoid tangles easier (like attach something large yet weightless at the end of the line)?

Thanks!
Old 03-31-2011, 02:30 PM

wjc has a brilliant futurewjc has a brilliant futurewjc has a brilliant futurewjc has a brilliant futurewjc has a brilliant futurewjc has a brilliant futurewjc has a brilliant futurewjc has a brilliant futurewjc has a brilliant futurewjc has a brilliant futurewjc has a brilliant future
Default Re: Tangled Tippets

You should be tying some yarn or a fly the size you plan to use most (after cutting the hook off at the bend. But this is to slow down the degradation of the end of your fly line.

The bad news is that you are throwning tailing loops, and that is the cause of the tangles and knots. Read the threads on tailing loops, there is one that is going on now.

Cheers,
Jim
Old 05-25-2011, 09:35 AM

rrarods is on a distinguished road