The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > The Fly Cast

The Fly Cast Discuss fly casting with the expert, ask for help, learn to cast farther, increase your accuracy, troubleshoot your cast.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2010, 08:00 PM

masnomas is on a distinguished road
Default Newbie casting question.

I have my grandfathers old set up. And I have been trying to practice cast with it to get a feel for the sport before investing further. The rod is a 6 weight South Bend WHITE KNIGHT 2 pc fiberglass Fly Rod if it matters.

There are a number of problems with my casting of course, as I am just beginning. Primarily I am not pausing long enough on the back cast and also I am not always maintaining a good rod angle or stiff arm.
I am getting better and some of my casts eliminate these problems.

The real issue I need discussed is that when I have a "good" cast and the line settles out on the grass fairly well (straight) the leader and tipped more or less settle in a pile at the end of the line instead of going straight out for presentation.

I am assuming that this issue is less to do with my poor casting and perhaps more with poor set up.
Is it that the small piece of yarn representing the fly is not heavy enough to roll out the leader? I did try adding a small piece of wire, which helped a little, but not much.
I have, from a suggestion, a piece of 12 lb mono between the flyline and the leader, but that piece of mono is thinner than the butt end of the leader. So I suppose that could be the issue.
The line is what my grandfather had left on the reel. But I replaced the leader with a brand new one.

Does anyone have any suggestions, direction, or need for more information?
Old 04-29-2010, 02:39 AM

vsyogi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Newbie casting question.