The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   The Fly Cast (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-cast/)
-   -   Need casting help, cast dies (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-cast/208965-need-casting-help-cast-dies.html)

nickrp 11-23-2011 12:16 PM

Need casting help, cast dies

OK so i am brand new to fly fishing and need some help before i head out on a backpacking trip.

Every time i shoot out my cast, the fly dies before it gets to its target. basically once the tippet passes the fly line it all kindda just falls in a bundle. why? is it because im not making a hard stop on my front cast? or something else? any help would be appreciated.

Guest1 11-23-2011 01:37 PM

Re: Need casting help, cast dies

It could be a few things. I almost hate to speculate so is there a way you can post a video so we can look at it? Video is the best tool there is for finding a fault in your cast.

nickrp 11-23-2011 01:39 PM

well i wont be going back out until friday when i go back packing. any possible causes?

kayo 11-23-2011 02:02 PM

http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/fo...ng-issues.html

this might help

williamhj 11-23-2011 04:47 PM

Might also be good to read and watch some videos on good casting practices, if you don't have time to post anything before you leave.

Guest1 11-23-2011 05:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nickrp (Post 352185)
well i wont be going back out until friday when i go back packing. any possible causes?