The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > The Fly Cast

The Fly Cast Discuss fly casting with the expert, ask for help, learn to cast farther, increase your accuracy, troubleshoot your cast.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2011, 12:16 PM

nickrp is on a distinguished road
Default Need casting help, cast dies

OK so i am brand new to fly fishing and need some help before i head out on a backpacking trip.

Every time i shoot out my cast, the fly dies before it gets to its target. basically once the tippet passes the fly line it all kindda just falls in a bundle. why? is it because im not making a hard stop on my front cast? or something else? any help would be appreciated.
Old 11-23-2011, 01:37 PM
Banned

Location: Lake of the Woods/Rainy River Minnesota Canada border
Guest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Need casting help, cast dies

It could be a few things. I almost hate to speculate so is there a way you can post a video so we can look at it? Video is the best tool there is for finding a fault in your cast.
Old 11-23-2011, 01:39 PM

nickrp is on a distinguished road

well i wont be going back out until friday when i go back packing. any possible causes?
Old 11-23-2011, 02:02 PM

kayo is a name known to allkayo is a name known to allkayo is a name known to allkayo is a name known to allkayo is a name known to allkayo is a name known to all

Casting Issues

this might help
Old 11-23-2011, 04:47 PM