The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > The Fly Cast

The Fly Cast Discuss fly casting with the expert, ask for help, learn to cast farther, increase your accuracy, troubleshoot your cast.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2012, 06:49 AM

recriger will become famous soon enough
Red face My rod tried to use ME as the bate!!

So I supose I'm a lucky guy. I went fishing Saturday morning and didn't catch anything, but 5 hours dissappeared that I couldn't account for so i'm betting it was a good time. Saturday evening my wife asked me "Are you going fishing in the morning?". My response was a tad less than intelligent..."uuuuuuh, you'd let me? I'd, um...". She had a brunch planned so she WANTED me to go. How cool is that?

Anyway, I'm a newbie so I stopped by the local fly shop. I am currently learning how to tie my own flies, but as I told the guys at the shop, I wanted to get some flies so I could keep fishing in the mean time. They have starter boxes there but were out of the boxes for Small mouth. I asked him to pick out some flies that would help me get some fish on the line.

I have the feeling that the ones chosen are a little heavy for my set-up. I currently have a 8'6" medium 5wt loaded with WFF. It is one of the combo's from Bass-Pro, White River I believe. They had also picked out a bass leader, so I tied on a 8lb tapered leader and some 3X tippet. The first one didn't cast too bad, but the other 2 flies and the streamer were a nightmare. As I would build the cast the leader looked like a windmill blade with the line-leader connection as the axle.