The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   The Fly Cast (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-cast/)
-   -   New caster problems (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-cast/292357-new-caster-problems.html)

jspriddy 07-26-2012 08:12 PM

New caster problems

I'm new to fly casting, and have been practicing several days in the yard. I know part of my problem is breaking my wrist, but I'm working on that.

My main problem is the line nearly always lands in a series of S-curves, leader included. The "stop" on the forward cast seems to be my problem. The more pronounced it is, the more problem I have. The few halfway decent casts I make seem to be the ones where I don't make the stop, or make it almost imperceptibly.

In other words, the more I concentrate on the stop, the worse the problem. I've watched videos until my eyes are crossed, read until they uncrossed, and still see very little progress.

Any suggestions? Besides more practice, which I will get.

Thanks,

John

randyflycaster 07-26-2012 11:24 PM

Re: New caster problems

You might be executing your forward casting stroke too quickly. If we cast too hard for the amount of line we have out the fly line might bounce after we abruptly stop the rod.

Also, you might be stopping the rod too early. At the end of your forward cast the rod should point to about 10:30.

Randy

cockatouche 07-27-2012 06:25 AM

Forget the back yard "casting" and go "fishing".

turbineblade 07-27-2012 12:38 PM

I am also a new caster, and have found that my forward cast isn't very good either in comparison to my backcast. The biggest thing I've noticed is that I tend to A) not put enough snap/stop into my forward cast, and B) end the front cast lower than I do the back cast.....when I focus on the *stop and making sure to stop at a higher point on the cast, I do much better.

ghocevar 07-27-2012 12:57 PM