The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > The Fly Cast

The Fly Cast Discuss fly casting with the expert, ask for help, learn to cast farther, increase your accuracy, troubleshoot your cast.

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2012, 08:12 PM

jspriddy is on a distinguished road
Default New caster problems

I'm new to fly casting, and have been practicing several days in the yard. I know part of my problem is breaking my wrist, but I'm working on that.

My main problem is the line nearly always lands in a series of S-curves, leader included. The "stop" on the forward cast seems to be my problem. The more pronounced it is, the more problem I have. The few halfway decent casts I make seem to be the ones where I don't make the stop, or make it almost imperceptibly.

In other words, the more I concentrate on the stop, the worse the problem. I've watched videos until my eyes are crossed, read until they uncrossed, and still see very little progress.

Any suggestions? Besides more practice, which I will get.

Thanks,

John

Patrick O’Brian
Old 07-26-2012, 11:24 PM

randyflycaster is a name known to allrandyflycaster is a name known to allrandyflycaster is a name known to allrandyflycaster is a name known to allrandyflycaster is a name known to allrandyflycaster is a name known to all
Default Re: New caster problems

You might be executing your forward casting stroke too quickly. If we cast too hard for the amount of line we have out the fly line might bounce after we abruptly stop the rod.

Also, you might be stopping the rod too early. At the end of your forward cast the rod should point to about 10:30.

Randy
Old 07-27-2012, 06:25 AM

cockatouche will become famous soon enough

Forget the back yard "casting" and go "fishing".
Rip Tide likes this.
Old 07-27-2012, 12:38 PM