The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > The Fly Cast

The Fly Cast Discuss fly casting with the expert, ask for help, learn to cast farther, increase your accuracy, troubleshoot your cast.

Like Tree16Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2013, 08:40 AM

mbchilton is a jewel in the roughmbchilton is a jewel in the roughmbchilton is a jewel in the rough
Default Improving my cast

I've been using a fly rod for a few years, but this year I want to work on improving my cast. I'm not only talking about distance, but also accuracy, roll casts, and presentation. What has been the best way for you to learn? Paid lessons, friends, videos, books, practice? I'm sure a healthy combination of all of these wouldn't hurt, but is there any specific advise or resource you would recommend that has worked for you?
Old 01-21-2013, 08:44 AM

williamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Improving my cast

Practice and a lesson. I need more of both. No amount of video watching or reading or thinking can replace the physical movement if you're looking to learn. I've found that I learn in a lesson, whether a formal casting lesson or small adjustments from a good guide, what might take months of practicing to figure out. I like reading and watching videos but doing is best.
oarfish likes this.
Old 01-21-2013, 09:41 AM