The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > The Fly Cast

The Fly Cast Discuss fly casting with the expert, ask for help, learn to cast farther, increase your accuracy, troubleshoot your cast.

Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By brookfieldangler
  • 1 Post By silver creek

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2013, 02:56 PM

sjbdds is on a distinguished road
Default Casting dilemma

Hello
First post here. I am a newbie to fly fishing. This summer I thought I didn't have enough frustrating hobbies( golf, hunting dog, girlfriend)
So I decided I would try fly fishing.
I have been practicing in back yard w my
7'6" 3 wt ( almost everything I do is small creeks- smallmouth. Panfish....)

I can throw the yarn pretty accurately overhead and sidearm about 30-40 ft.
Dry flys not a problem.
Put me in my favorite creek and all is lost- rush cast, terrible loops- total spaz.
Fish are having a good laugh- I think the ones I catch are sympathy fish.

So today I am out at creek at a nice little pool that holds smallies most of the time. I start w a black # wooly bugger- no problems but no fish. I decide to use a white red streamer. I don't know what it was with this but all technique disappeared. Loops were open and awful, distance and accuracy gone.
Question is is there a diff technique to throwing streamers?
Old 09-04-2013, 03:19 PM

brookfieldangler is a splendid one to beholdbrookfieldangler is a splendid one to beholdbrookfieldangler is a splendid one to beholdbrookfieldangler is a splendid one to beholdbrookfieldangler is a splendid one to beholdbrookfieldangler is a splendid one to beholdbrookfieldangler is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Casting dilemma

Not really a "technique" so much...