The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   The Fly Cast (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-cast/)
-   -   casting problems?? new fly line (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-cast/3416-casting-problems-new-fly-line.html)

johnny5wa 02-24-2008 12:05 AM

casting problems?? new fly line

hey everyone. I am new to fly fishing. been doing it now for about 8 months. Here is my problem. I just bought some new flyline.... Cortland 555 Weight forward 6 weight floating with dynatip. I am using a ST Croix reign 6 wt rod. I am having problems on my cast, just before my line straightens out it drops really fast toward the water.. I am having to spend more energy trying to keep it in the air than increasing line speed. What is happening, I had some cheap cortland 333 on the pole before and had alot less troubles. I would figure the more expensive line would be easier.. guess not. Anyway, whats happening.... please help me out. Im thinking its the dynatip, but not sure. Thanks, John

mojo 02-24-2008 12:10 AM

Re: casting problems?? new fly line

Betcha got a tailing loop too, right?

johnny5wa 02-24-2008 12:11 AM

Tailing loop?

johnny5wa 02-24-2008 12:12 AM

If that means the fly is lagging way behind in the cast then ya

Joni 02-24-2008 12:12 AM

All I can think of is be sure and stop sooner (higher) like the 10:00 spot and let the line straighten out, then lay it on the water.
Try standing slightly sideways and watch your cast. Keep a straight line with the rod like painting as ceiling and be sure you are not windshield wiper it.
Try slowing down and letting your back cast straighten out first, you might be rushing it.

johnny5wa 02-24-2008 12:18 AM