The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   The Fly Cast (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-cast/)
-   -   Just wanna say thanks (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-cast/342248-just-wanna-say-thanks.html)

lurker66 01-11-2014 04:31 PM

Just wanna say thanks

Im pretty new at this fly casting. Just wanna say thanks for all the advice ive read on this forum.

I can now cast arount 30' semi accurately and consistently. I do hear an occasional "crack" but almost have that under control.

Anyway if I go much further than 30' everything kinda falls apart or piles up. I think my loop gets too big, the further I try to cast. Im using a Scientific Anglers 5/6 wt 9ft and a St. Croix Imperial 3/4, 7 1/2. I cast them both about the same so far.

Anyway thanks fellas, I enjoy the advice and will continue to practice.

Hardyreels 01-11-2014 04:44 PM

Re: Just wanna say thanks

Hey there,

There are folks here who will diagnose the cast for you but I'm not all that good with that type technical explanation so I'll hope for them to pick up un this thread. The best advice I can give is for you to turn your head and watch the back cast. Allow it to unfurl to your rear before beginning the forward motion. If you've ever played with one of those souvenir bull whips you will know that the whole theory on making a whip crack is to have the thing moving 2 directions at once.

It is the abrupt change of direction that causes the 'cracking'. Allow the casts both fore & aft to reach the terminus and the crack will be gone. Then it's off to other ailments of the cast.

Welcome to the forum,
Ard

brookfieldangler 01-11-2014 05:37 PM

Where you from? I bet someone close to you would be happy to tag along and work on that cast

turbineblade 01-11-2014 06:29 PM