The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > The Fly Cast

The Fly Cast Discuss fly casting with the expert, ask for help, learn to cast farther, increase your accuracy, troubleshoot your cast.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2014, 04:23 PM

boyandhisdogs is on a distinguished road
Default Best way to straighten mono running line?

The title pretty much says it all. I'm new to this shooting stuff and every time I take my two-handed cannon out the mono running line is always coiled like a spring and cuts my cast in half and I usually end up with a florescent pink birds nest in the water in front of me.

I've tried the old "pull it through your wallet" trick as well as pull it from under the sole of my boot and neither one works well enough. For what it's worth, I've got 80# Frog Hair.
Click the image to open in full size.

I'd rather not buy another line unless what I've got it beyond saving. I'm a 20 year old college student with two part time jobs. I'd rather make due with what I've already got and not have to buy anything.

Thanks for reading.
Old 02-09-2014, 04:41 PM
Administrator

Hardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Yahoo to Hardyreels Send a message via Skype™ to Hardyreels
Default Re: Best way to straighten mono running line?

Hello and welcome to the forum,