The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > The Fly Cast

The Fly Cast Discuss fly casting with the expert, ask for help, learn to cast farther, increase your accuracy, troubleshoot your cast.

Like Tree8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2014, 09:06 PM

brandons2185 is on a distinguished road
Default Newbie fly caster using bass bugs

I am new to flyfishing and casting but over the last month I've been practicing in the back yard and have become pretty good at casting nice loops and hitting my targets fairly accurately.

However, my first time on the water I realized it's not the same ball game. I was fishing for smallmouth and was trying to use a popper. I quickly realized that the wind resistance of the fly was keeping me from being able to cast with any sort of consistency or accuracy. It was difficult getting the fly to lift off the water and then it just would not move through the air.

I have a 9' 6wt sage response rod with a magnum taper line and a 9' leader.

Do I need to add split shot to the tippet or shorten my leader to make it move?

Any help would be great.

Thanks!
ejsell likes this.
Old 07-13-2014, 09:25 PM
Business Member

silver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond reputesilver creek has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Newbie fly caster using bass bugs