The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > The Fly Cast

The Fly Cast Discuss fly casting with the expert, ask for help, learn to cast farther, increase your accuracy, troubleshoot your cast.

Like Tree8Likes
  • 5 Post By photoguy
  • 2 Post By silver creek
  • 1 Post By james w 3 3

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2014, 12:49 PM

busbus has much to be proud ofbusbus has much to be proud ofbusbus has much to be proud ofbusbus has much to be proud ofbusbus has much to be proud ofbusbus has much to be proud ofbusbus has much to be proud ofbusbus has much to be proud ofbusbus has much to be proud of
Default Pond practice

Thanks to everybody who told me to get off my duff and just go to a small body of water to practice casting. I really think it has been helping a lot. I am still a novice, for sure, but the casts are getting a little longer and straighter and better on a sort of consistent basis. I have been on the water over lunch for the five of the past seven work-days. And I caught fish on four of those days, so that was a bonus!

I started out with a short, medium-action 7-ft 4-wt and I felt I was doing okay. I was able to coax my neighbor into letting me try out his Redington 3-wt. I don't know why but I am obsessed with that rod. He bought it last year and he never uses it. Never. Like I thought. All the practicing seemed to have helped because I was able to cast that thing further than I ever did before: about 25 feet, including the leader and tippet.