Beginner in need of hope

petyot

Reaction score
Hi there,

I am totally new to fly fishing. I am planning a trip to Pulaski this fall. I bought my stuff a few weeks ago (Fenwick Aetos 8wt, Pflueger Patriarch reel with 8wt Scientific Angler floating line) and I have the summer to be ready for my trip.

I have read almost every posts on this great forum :roll eyes:, I have watched every video from Mel Krieger, Tom Rosenbauer, the Orvis learning center... I have read a few blogs.

It looks so easy on those video :starwars:

Well, yesterday I tried to cast a little bit in my backyard... Let me confirm that it looks easier than it is! :eek:

My best cast was around 30 feet. Accuracy was not so bad but I was able to tie a few knots in my line without touching it, just in the air :eek:. My line got tangled in my reel and around my cork handle a few times. Not a complete disaster but not very satisfying...

I will try to find someone to teach me the basic around here.

Give me some hope, how was your learning curve ? very long ? not so long ?

Thanks!

Pierre

jpbfly

Super Moderator
Reaction score
:welcomean to the forum Pierre(sounds french)....don't worry you'll cast very well soon,try to find a Jedi (maybe here... there may be someone from your area)or a guide and casting instructor:)

mcnerney

Administrator
Reaction score
Pierre

That is a great idea to get a casting instructor to help out, you will be surprised at how fast you will progress with a little professional first hand help.

Casting is mostly a timing issue. Sometimes it helps to turn your body slightly to your right (if right hand casting) and on the back cast, turn your head and watch the fly line as it extends behind you, just as it extends fully, start your forward cast. Beginners will almost always start the forward cast before the back cast straightens (hence the recommendation to turn and watch the back cast until you can feel the timing).