The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > The Fly Cast

The Fly Cast Discuss fly casting with the expert, ask for help, learn to cast farther, increase your accuracy, troubleshoot your cast.

Like Tree32Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2016, 02:20 PM

petyot will become famous soon enoughpetyot will become famous soon enough
Default Beginner in need of hope

Hi there,

I am totally new to fly fishing. I am planning a trip to Pulaski this fall. I bought my stuff a few weeks ago (Fenwick Aetos 8wt, Pflueger Patriarch reel with 8wt Scientific Angler floating line) and I have the summer to be ready for my trip.

I have read almost every posts on this great forum :roll eyes:, I have watched every video from Mel Krieger, Tom Rosenbauer, the Orvis learning center... I have read a few blogs.

It looks so easy on those video

Well, yesterday I tried to cast a little bit in my backyard... Let me confirm that it looks easier than it is!

My best cast was around 30 feet. Accuracy was not so bad but I was able to tie a few knots in my line without touching it, just in the air . My line got tangled in my reel and around my cork handle a few times. Not a complete disaster but not very satisfying...

I will try to find someone to teach me the basic around here.

Give me some hope, how was your learning curve ? very long ? not so long ?

Thanks!

Pierre
Old 05-08-2016, 02:31 PM
Super Moderator

jpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Beginner in need of hope