The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > The Fly Cast

The Fly Cast Discuss fly casting with the expert, ask for help, learn to cast farther, increase your accuracy, troubleshoot your cast.

Like Tree5Likes
  • 3 Post By mcnerney
  • 2 Post By silver creek

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2016, 01:21 AM

clayed21085 is on a distinguished road
Default Casting nymphs vs dries

On a previous post we all know as a beginner I have a tailing loop problem here and there ( which has gotten better over the last couple weeks ty) but I've noticed I have to try really hard, I mean really punch the rod to get any wind knots when fishing dries, I assume with more wind resistant/lighter fly the loops keep their shape better and are not as prone to collaspe the leader on itself in mid air, now switch from a size 14 stonefly to a size 14 beadhead nymph and the problem arrises I may may not tail on every cast but still magically collect mysterious wind knots near the fly to halfway up tippit especially when applying power (hauling). As far as tippit selection I generally been using 6# fluoro ".008" basically 3x, my tippit is usually around 2'. 4x I know would be considerd more appropiate for size for 14, but I don't see a difference in catch rate and going a little heavy allows me to scale up to lightly weighted buggers and leeches around size 10 if need be without changing out my leader. Any suggestions to what might be going on?
Old 07-23-2016, 09:52 AM
Administrator

mcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond repute