The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > The Fly Cast

The Fly Cast Discuss fly casting with the expert, ask for help, learn to cast farther, increase your accuracy, troubleshoot your cast.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2008, 12:51 AM

plland is on a distinguished road
Default Recommend a DVD for learning specialty casts

I can do the basic cast, I can mend line, I can roll cast pretty well as long as I've got a DT line in the reel... but I want to learn some of these crazy casts like the double haul, the bow and arrow, anything else that I don't know, and also perfect my basic casting techniques. I'm not that good at learning from pictures or from written descriptions. I've tried the single haul, but just don't think I understand the concepts just looking at photos of it. All my technique (if you call it that, you'd be giving me a compliment), I've learned from guides giving me casting lessons, but I think I can learn pretty well from a DVD.

Are there any good DVDs out there that cover lots of specialty casts?
2. What I use when a black #10 woolly bugger isn't catching.
Old 05-02-2008, 01:02 AM

Davo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud ofDavo has much to be proud of
Send a message via MSN to Davo Send a message via Skype™ to Davo
Default Re: Recommend a DVD for learning specialty casts

The Essence of Fly Casting by Mel Krieger. He is a bit goofy in his presentation. But it covers all the basics. You can get it on Amazon.com along with another DVD of his called Fly Casting Faults and Fixes.

Upstream Anglers and Outdoor Adventures
Old 05-02-2008, 08:28 AM
Administrator