The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > The Fly Cast

The Fly Cast Discuss fly casting with the expert, ask for help, learn to cast farther, increase your accuracy, troubleshoot your cast.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2008, 05:38 PM

Joey W is on a distinguished road
Default first time fly fishing..biggest issue i had

hey guys and gals, i'm new to fly fishing and new to these boards. i went fly fishing for the first time yesterday and one issue seem to haunt me all day (there were lots and lots of issues but this one was the most frustrating ). i was making mainly cast directly across stream or slight up stream, and almost without fail, my fly line would almost immediately get ahead of my fly and drag it through the water in an unnatural manner (kind of reminded my of a skier being pulled behind a ski boat ).

thanks in advance for any tips or advice..

joey
Old 05-18-2008, 05:59 PM

BlueDun has a spectacular aura aboutBlueDun has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: first time fly fishing..biggest issue i had

Joey,

Unless you "mend" the line after you cast, it will get ahead of your fly. Others on this forum are far more knowledgeable than me, so hopefully, they will add their advise.

In the mean time, here is a link to an article about mending your line:

Fly Fishing, Fly Presentation, Mending - MidCurrent
Old 05-18-2008, 10:02 PM
Super Moderator

BigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant future

Stand somewhere else.