The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > The Fly Cast

The Fly Cast Discuss fly casting with the expert, ask for help, learn to cast farther, increase your accuracy, troubleshoot your cast.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-21-2008, 06:06 PM

ducktrooper is on a distinguished road
Default Need different rod for streamers?

I'm a newbie so please go easy...have FF about 5 times now, mostly nymphing and wet flies. I'd like to know if I should get another rod and keep it rigged for streamer fishing? I had a heck of a time learning how to throw a 8' sinking line with a beaded wooly bugger on my TFO 5 wt rod(med/fast)

It seems like the rod flexed too much and strained to handle all that added weight. I was able to figure it out and catch fish but it was very hard/awkward. Should I get another rod, 6 or 7 wt, and keep it rigged for streamer fishing since many of the rivers in AR where I go call for that.

Suggestions? Thanks.
Old 05-21-2008, 06:20 PM
Administrator

Frank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Skype™ to Frank Whiton
Default Re: Need different rod for streamers?

Hi Ducktropper,

You are saying an 8' line so I am assuming you are adding an 8' sinking line between your fly line and leader. Is that correct?

Frank
Old 05-21-2008, 06:29 PM

That's correct. I had about 5' of 5x tippet attached to the sinking line. My regular line is Rio Grand 5WF.
Old 05-21-2008, 08:41 PM
Super Moderator