The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > The Fly Cast

The Fly Cast Discuss fly casting with the expert, ask for help, learn to cast farther, increase your accuracy, troubleshoot your cast.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2010, 10:58 AM

bs1784 is on a distinguished road
Default Forward Cast Issues...

First let me note my inexperience, I am very new to fly casting...

I just had my first lesson with a certified casting instructor last week. Since then I've been trying to get some practice in before my next lesson, which is about a week from now. My backcast looks alright, but the forward cast is another story. I can't stop overpowering the rod, each time I make a decent backcast I snap the rod forward and produce tailing loops. When I try to slow it down, my fly line drags. How can I fix this???
Old 11-20-2010, 12:46 PM

wjc has a brilliant futurewjc has a brilliant futurewjc has a brilliant futurewjc has a brilliant futurewjc has a brilliant futurewjc has a brilliant futurewjc has a brilliant futurewjc has a brilliant futurewjc has a brilliant futurewjc has a brilliant futurewjc has a brilliant future
Default Re: Forward Cast Issues...

I am going to assume you are using the Joan Wulff overhead casting style. Look at the video below starting at 3:39 at the end. Don't watch any of the entire rest of the video. It will confuse you at this stage.

He is double-hauling, but forget that part too and just watch his arm. He is drifting up and back at the end of the backcast. This is key to help prevent you from "creeping" your casting arm forward, cutting way down the length of your forward casting stroke and causing you to "hit" the cast way too hard early in the stroke. Doing this will cause a tailing loop.

Sorry: here's the link; Thanks, Jackster.