The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   The Fly Cast (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-cast/)
-   -   Fast Action Rod (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-cast/8815-fast-action-rod.html)

traphunter 04-06-2009 10:51 AM

Fast Action Rod

I am new to fly fishing, and I am having trouble casting my fast action rod. I have cast medium action rods before, and did just fine, but for some reason this fast action is giving me fits. I can not get it to go anywhere. I have read that fast action rods are not the best thing to start out on, but I purchased it because I want something that i can grow into.

So can anyone give me some advice on casting a fast action rod?
Are fast actions acceptable for casting dry flies in the 12-16 size range?

Thanks for any help.
Seth

BigCliff 04-06-2009 11:06 AM

Re: Fast Action Rod

First off, I disagree with the idea that a fast action rod is easiest for a beginner. Fast action rods don't bend as much during casting, and you need to learn to feel this bending to be able to cast effectively.

I would recommend getting help from an experienced casting instructor or a local club to help you out. If you give us your location, we might even be able to make some recommendations.

traphunter 04-06-2009 11:18 AM

I know they are not the best for beginners, I am a quick to pick things up though so I look forward to learning.

SkipS 04-06-2009 11:22 AM