The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > The Fly Cast

The Fly Cast Discuss fly casting with the expert, ask for help, learn to cast farther, increase your accuracy, troubleshoot your cast.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2009, 10:51 AM

traphunter is on a distinguished road
Default Fast Action Rod

I am new to fly fishing, and I am having trouble casting my fast action rod. I have cast medium action rods before, and did just fine, but for some reason this fast action is giving me fits. I can not get it to go anywhere. I have read that fast action rods are not the best thing to start out on, but I purchased it because I want something that i can grow into.

So can anyone give me some advice on casting a fast action rod?
Are fast actions acceptable for casting dry flies in the 12-16 size range?

Thanks for any help.
Seth
Old 04-06-2009, 11:06 AM
Super Moderator

BigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant future
Default Re: Fast Action Rod

First off, I disagree with the idea that a fast action rod is easiest for a beginner. Fast action rods don't bend as much during casting, and you need to learn to feel this bending to be able to cast effectively.

I would recommend getting help from an experienced casting instructor or a local club to help you out. If you give us your location, we might even be able to make some recommendations.

I'd rather hunt fish than bait deer any day.
Old 04-06-2009, 11:18 AM

traphunter is on a distinguished road

I know they are not the best for beginners, I am a quick to pick things up though so I look forward to learning.
Old 04-06-2009, 11:22 AM