The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   The Fly Cast (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-cast/)
-   -   Furl Girl Leaders (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/fly-cast/9144-furl-girl-leaders.html)

Tracker12 04-26-2009 09:22 PM

Furl Girl Leaders

I ordered a couple of sinking leaders from Flygoddess for shad fishing and she sent me a 5 1/2 foot regular leader in for free. I tried it this evening at the pond fishing for bream and bass on my 5/6 wt. This leader fished very nice and cast outstanding. I was able to lay down the line and have the tippet extend nicely. I am a true novice and might not be the best gauge but these leaders helped me. One think I noticed that if I reeled the line in past the leader I could easily cast it out vice having to reach up and pull the line past the tip. Can wait to try the sinking leaders this week.

dorian.ducker 04-26-2009 09:56 PM

Re: Furl Girl Leaders

I have a couple of Joni's leader's that I have yet to tie on. I am excited to try them out!

Jimmie 04-27-2009 02:09 AM

Likewise. Have yet to use mine. I showed it off at our last FF club meeting. It was a big hit. One thing that surprised me was how many experienced fly fishermen were not familiar nor had heard of furled leaders. Are these new to fly fishing?

axle27 04-27-2009 09:25 AM

I have used furled leaders just recently for the first time...unfortunately, they are not Joni's.

With the possible exception of nymphing, I'll never go back to tapered leaders.

mojo 04-27-2009 09:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jimmie (Post 58012)
Likewise. Have yet to use mine. I showed it off at our last FF club meeting. It was a big hit. One thing that surprised me was how many experienced fly fishermen were not familiar nor had heard of furled leaders. Are these new to fly fishing?