The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > The Fly Cast

The Fly Cast Discuss fly casting with the expert, ask for help, learn to cast farther, increase your accuracy, troubleshoot your cast.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2011, 04:20 PM

ibff is on a distinguished road
Default Help...hooking own line all of a sudden

A little help for a self-taught caster.

Last year, I all of sudden got in a rut where I was frequently having my leader hook my fly line on my final forward cast when I when I was attempting to make a long shooting cast. It was like the shanks in golf, it all of a sudden started and I kept doing it.

Is there an experience teacher out there who has seen this and can tell me my mistake? I just went fishing a few days ago and I had no problem, but I am not sure why it cropped up that time and I want to be able to fix it if it happens again.

FYI- I was usually double hauling and trying to shooting dry flies as far as possible when it would occur.

Any advice would be appreciated.
Old 01-20-2011, 04:55 PM
Super Moderator

BigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant future
Default Re: Help...hooking own line all of a sudden

I'm about 95% certain a tailing loop is causing your problem.

A tailing loop is caused by applying power too early in the casting stroke, which puts a deep bend in the rod that it recovers from earlier than is ideal. This produces a concave path of the rod tip, and a closed/intersecting loop as the line travels forward through the air.

Here's Tim Rajeff with some instruction on the problem and its remedy-

I'd rather hunt fish than bait deer any day.