The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Fly fishing FAQs

Fly fishing FAQs Find answers to the some frequently asked fly fishing questions...

Like Tree5Likes
  • 2 Post By mcnerney
  • 3 Post By Bigfly

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2014, 02:38 AM

ethiepeeps is on a distinguished road
Default Keep missing river brownies

Hi All

I'm new to the form and only been fly fishing for 12 months but already clocked up hundreds of hours on the reservoirs. Last year I got some waders and went into our local shallow river Almond' Livingston West lothian Scotland which as it turns out is loaded with 1/2 lb browns. I had offer-after-offer all day but never landed or even hooked one! I was using s18 river drys with the whole fly Ginked. Someone said the trout were flicking the fly to drown it and since I had fully Ginked the fly it did not sink hence the trout ignored it.

Thoughts?
Old 01-21-2014, 07:46 AM
Administrator

mcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Keep missing river brownies