The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Fly fishing FAQs

Fly fishing FAQs Find answers to the some frequently asked fly fishing questions...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By mcnerney

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2014, 11:06 AM

trout tracker is on a distinguished road
Default How to nymph fish

Hi,

I'm just getting started in fly fishing and I'm a bit confused on how to do nymphing. From the research I've done I've found that you would put a strike indicator on your leader and below that a swivel and some tippet then you fly. What I don't understand is your supposed to do this in a deep lake.

My question is for a lake situation would you use a really long leader. And also once you get the nymph out there do you just sit and wait for a bite or do you retrieve it. Sorry if these sound like stupid questions.

I only own a floating line by the way.

Thanks
Old 09-17-2014, 12:29 PM
Administrator

mcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: How to nymph fish