The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Fly fishing FAQs

Fly fishing FAQs Find answers to the some frequently asked fly fishing questions...

Like Tree27Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2015, 08:31 PM

billc523 is on a distinguished road
Default 4-5 pc. 4wt. Help

Hi fellas, I'm new to fly fishing and to this forum. I have spin fished in the Chattooga River, upper State South Carolina bordering Georgia and North Carolina. However, many people fishing that area like to fly fish. The information I have received to date is (for that area) to choose a 4wt. Fly rod to fish for these Rainbow and a few Brown's in this area. They are not usually large catches, the river width ranges from about 25 feet to 40 feet for the majority of the area I fish, however there are areas which approach 100 feet in width. I am thinking I would need a four or five piece rod with a 4 weight. The reason for the four or five piece rod is I like to backpack this area, from Hwy. 28 bordering Georgia and South Carolina at the Chattooga River up to the North Carolina State line. So what can I get in a rod with all the necessary items for between ? And $250.00 ?
mcnerney and hairwing530 like this.
Old 04-17-2015, 11:04 PM

tcorfey is a splendid one to beholdtcorfey is a splendid one to beholdtcorfey is a splendid one to beholdtcorfey is a splendid one to beholdtcorfey is a splendid one to beholdtcorfey is a splendid one to beholdtcorfey is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: 4-5 pc. 4wt. Help

Welcome aboard Bill!

If you look in the top right corner of the screen is a search function. Type in 4wt fly rod and you can read lots of stuff.