The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Fly fishing FAQs

Fly fishing FAQs Find answers to the some frequently asked fly fishing questions...

Like Tree21Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2015, 10:26 AM

paulsoncall is on a distinguished road
Default Estimating fly size or fly hook size

I'm a newbie and was wondering if anyone had any tips on how to estimate a fly hook size by eye. This has been the most difficult thing for me to estimate especially when dealing with smaller flies. Anyone have any tips?
Old 08-25-2015, 10:35 AM

spm has a brilliant futurespm has a brilliant futurespm has a brilliant futurespm has a brilliant futurespm has a brilliant futurespm has a brilliant futurespm has a brilliant futurespm has a brilliant futurespm has a brilliant futurespm has a brilliant futurespm has a brilliant future
Default Re: Estimating fly size or fly hook size

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulsoncall View Post
I'm a newbie and was wondering if anyone had any tips on how to estimate a fly hook size by eye. This has been the most difficult thing for me to estimate especially when dealing with smaller flies. Anyone have any tips?
Welcome to the forum, Paul. Lots of people on here that can, and are always willing to help. You aren't the only one with questions, so don't be timid; ask away. Personally, I'll be watching for this answer myself, as I have the same problem.

steve,aka spm
Old 08-25-2015, 10:44 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by spm View Post
Welcome to the forum, Paul. Lots of people on here that can, and are always willing to help. You aren't the only one with questions, so don't be timid; ask away. Personally, I'll be watching for this answer myself, as I have the same problem.

steve,aka spm
Thanks Steve. And I did use the search function and couldn't really find anything.
Old 08-25-2015, 11:48 AM