The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Fly Fishing How To's

Fly Fishing How To's Discussions on how to improve your fly fishing knowledge

Like Tree20Likes
  • 1 Post By k1200sportbike
  • 5 Post By tcorfey
  • 4 Post By hairwing530
  • 2 Post By silver creek
  • 3 Post By bigjim5589
  • 3 Post By ia_trouter
  • 2 Post By unknownflyman

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2017, 10:07 PM

k1200sportbike is on a distinguished road
Default flies in relation to leaders/tippets?

Relative novice here---been on the water for a couple of years---but much in that time---lots to learn. How important is it---for smallies, panfish, etc., that my fly is at the end of the proper leader and tippet for that size? I realize this may be a difficult question to answer, but I'm not pursuing native Brookies where presentation MUST be exact. What's a good formula to use for proper leader and tippet selection once I've selected the proper fly? Thanks
hairwing530 likes this.
Old 03-20-2017, 12:07 AM

tcorfey has a brilliant futuretcorfey has a brilliant futuretcorfey has a brilliant futuretcorfey has a brilliant futuretcorfey has a brilliant futuretcorfey has a brilliant futuretcorfey has a brilliant futuretcorfey has a brilliant futuretcorfey has a brilliant futuretcorfey has a brilliant futuretcorfey has a brilliant future
Default Re: flies in relation to leaders/tippets?

I am going to try and make this real easy for you.
Go to our sponsors site Cutthroat Leaders. Get the 50" bass sinking or floating leader (go sinking if fishing nymphs or streamers, go floating if fishing dries or poppers your choice). Buy tippet in 2x and 4x.
https://www.cutthroatfurledleaders.c...-fish-leaders/