The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Lines

Fly Lines Let's talk about fly lines

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2010, 05:05 PM

boser has a spectacular aura aboutboser has a spectacular aura aboutboser has a spectacular aura about
Default Length of leader and tippet

Hello Everyone,
I need just a little help in selecting the correct length leader and tippet for my Fly Rods. If ther is a rule of thumb or a chart that would also be great.

I have a 8 ft 6 in 5 wt and a 9 ft 9 wt.

I have been using 7-1/2 ft tippets for each and I dont really remember what length leader. I have been FFing for about 2 years and have had some success but, I probably should learn what I doing to be correct. I have just switched from using the conventional nail knot connection to a welded loop-loop connection.

Regards, Boser
Old 01-17-2010, 06:41 PM
Banned

Location: Lake of the Woods/Rainy River Minnesota Canada border
Guest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Length of leader and tippet

I always do the leader/tippet at least as long as the rod. I tie my own. 9' in three foot pieces most of the time.
Old 01-17-2010, 07:18 PM
Administrator