The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Lines

Fly Lines Let's talk about fly lines

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2010, 01:57 PM

simmons_j_m is on a distinguished road
Default Replacing the leader

When I bought my set up, the guy put it all together for me. He used a nail knot, which I know is common, to connect the line to the leader. Being a beginner, I've almost gone through my leader already from tying on new tippets.... so...

How to I reattach a new tapered leader? Do I have to cut my fly line directly below the nail knot and then reattach?

I just didn't want to jump the gun and cut my fly line... so I thought I'd ask.

Thanks for any help.

- Justin
Old 02-25-2010, 02:19 PM

axle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud ofaxle27 has much to be proud of
Default Re: Replacing the leader

Cut the flyline right above the nail knot.

What I usually do is tie a piece of Amnesia (or other 10-15lb mono) to the end of the flyline. Put a perfection loop (or whatever loop you want, I prefer the perfection loop) on the other end of the mono. Leave 3-4 inches of mono between the perfection loop and the nail knot.

When you get a new leader, tie a perfection loop (again, any other loop you prefer) in the butt end of the leader. Loop to loop connection, and you're fishing.

Just my opinion....
Old 02-25-2010, 02:28 PM

raindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud of

Hey Justin,