Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Lines

Fly Lines Let's talk about fly lines

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2010, 02:15 PM

cwg is on a distinguished road
Default You Tube vid on furled leaders

it cant be this easy...can it?

Old 05-14-2010, 04:47 PM

kglissmeyer1 has a reputation beyond reputekglissmeyer1 has a reputation beyond reputekglissmeyer1 has a reputation beyond reputekglissmeyer1 has a reputation beyond reputekglissmeyer1 has a reputation beyond reputekglissmeyer1 has a reputation beyond reputekglissmeyer1 has a reputation beyond reputekglissmeyer1 has a reputation beyond reputekglissmeyer1 has a reputation beyond reputekglissmeyer1 has a reputation beyond reputekglissmeyer1 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: You Tube vid on furled leaders

Yes, it can. I've been twisting this type of leader now for the past five years. They are very durable and turn over flies like a dream. The 'furlers' will say that it is not true 'furling' as the material is twisted manually on itself rather than twisting the material and allowing the twist to then furl the material through the use of a jig and such, but the end result is almost the same. Most furlers use material such as fly tying thread to build their compound leaders and butt sectiuons, while this method uses mono, either nylon or flourocarbon. I have tried many different furled leaders and keep coming back to this twisted leader that I can build fairly quickly, even streamside if needed. I can twist up various lengths from a four-foot for Silver Salmon in Alaska to a 14-foot for spooky Brown Trout in my favorite spring creek. I use them, my family uses them and many of my friends use them. I like them better than tapered or compound tapered leaders and, until something else better comes along, I'll probably use these for the remainder of my flyfishing years - I'm that sold on them.