The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Lines

Fly Lines Let's talk about fly lines

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2011, 06:35 PM

cdaxj is on a distinguished road
Default Help with fly line

I'm new at fly fishing, so can someone explain to me the different line designations such as, DT5F or WF5F.

Also, I have a 5wt rod,so I assume that means I need 5wt line?

And, I'm in the coast, so is there a need to get saltwater specific line?

Thanks in advance.
Chad
Old 05-17-2011, 12:02 AM
Administrator

Hardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Yahoo to Hardyreels Send a message via Skype™ to Hardyreels
Default Re: Help with fly line

Hello Chad,

Welcome to the forum, it took me a while to get around to getting you a link but here is one from Cortland line company that will help you to understand line designs.

Cortland Fly Line Specs

I use double taper lines for almost all of my rods and I use many of them in the salt water also. I don't have any salt specific lines. However, a 5 weight may prove a bit light for salt water casting due to winds. This is not to say that it can't be done but that there are more appropriate rod / reel / line sets for salt water use.

Tell me what rod you own and that will be helpful also.

Ard

Ard

Life On The Line - Alaska Fishing with Ard

The Alaska Fishing & Outdoors Blog;
Old 05-17-2011, 07:15 AM

Thanks for the help. Several of the guys around here have 5wt rigs and they are fine. The winds are that bad.