The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Lines

Fly Lines Let's talk about fly lines

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2010, 09:20 AM

greatcanadian is on a distinguished road
Default Allen Fly Line

Hi all,
Setting up for this season's fly fishing. Purchased a new 8 weight rod, a new reel, and just ordered some Allen weight forward floating line 8 weight. Didn't NEED any of this stuff, but convinced myself I did. I have no experience with Allen fly lines. I am wondering if anyone could give me their impression on the lines. They are incredibly priced. Even if i had to by a replacement every year I would still be money in. I will need some decent distance for salmon fishing large rivers. If any of you have used these lines could you please give me your opinion? I know I could have bought the expensive lines and not worry, but I already have that and am interested in trying out Allen. Also considering a 4 weight rod/reel from him eventually.
Old 06-09-2010, 10:09 AM

boser has a spectacular aura aboutboser has a spectacular aura aboutboser has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Allen Fly Line

I have purchsaed many Allen fly lines and I am very pleased with every wt that I've purchased and used. 3,5,7 wt respectfully.

The Allen line actually casts longer with my 3 wt than the other line. The price cannot be beat.

Regards, Boser
Old 06-09-2010, 11:24 AM

thenextlevel is on a distinguished road

I purchased a 3 wt and 8 wt. I haven't used the 8 wt yet, but was very pleased with the 3 wt line. It works as well as any other line I have had on there. You can't beat the price!
Old 06-09-2010, 06:30 PM

greatcanadian is on a distinguished road

If that is fact, then it's incredible that such a line can be purchased for so cheap. Impressive. Thanks guys.
Old 06-09-2010, 11:33 PM

ab fisher is on a distinguished road