The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Lines

Fly Lines Let's talk about fly lines

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2010, 11:41 AM
Glen Wright is just really niceGlen Wright is just really niceGlen Wright is just really niceGlen Wright is just really nice
Default Roll Your Own...Leaders

I read an artical that said that tying your own leaders was pennies on the dollar compared to buying tapered leaders. I'm interested in tying my own leaders, because frankly I need to save as much money as possible. Especially on the week long trip my son and I are taking near the end of July up to Fish the Pit, Mc Cloud, etc..

What would be the best line for me to start out with? Since I've never done my own before I have no idea if I should just go by some mono at Walmart or what and what brand etc. I figure I'd tie a bunch of 9 footers since it's been a while since I've fished.

Is there any other question I should ask that I haven't thought of?
Old 06-28-2010, 12:19 PM

Rip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Roll Your Own...Leaders

There's a small investment going in, but I think it's well worth rolling your own
Not only in money saved, but more importantly in the understanding you'll gain in what's important in leader design and why one is better than another in a given situation.
You should definitely buy a ' leader tie kit' rather than random spools of mono.