The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Lines

Fly Lines Let's talk about fly lines

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2011, 03:33 AM

roybinson is on a distinguished road
Default Tenkara line + leader

Hi!
I am a newbie regarding Tenkara fly fishing, a perfect way to discover the swedish small forest streams.

But I have a problem with getting the casting right, to make the line turn over nicely and present the fly with a straight line. Is it a matter of bad casting teqnique or are the line setups that are easier to master in windy conditions?

I have the Iwana 12 ft rod and also bought the corresponding Tenkara USA traditional furled line, 10,5 ft. Linked to the line a use a tippet of fluorocarbon.

Is the somebody here who use a different, maybe not so traditional line setup? Would be interested the hear about your experiences....

Happy New Year, ladies and gentlemen!
Old 12-31-2011, 06:06 AM

CM_Stewart is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Tenkara line + leader

Happy New Year!

Getting a tenkara line to turn over and casting in the wind are two different issues.

The 10.5' traditional line from Tenkara USA casts well on the 12' Iwana, so if you are having trouble when it isn't windy it is a question of technique. The tenkara cast is not quite the same as a cast with a Western fly rod.