Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Lines

Fly Lines Let's talk about fly lines

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By risenfly

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2012, 08:17 PM

rookie0101 is on a distinguished road
Default New guy to the Sport... Help

Ok so im new to fly fishing cause the orginal plan was to go to school in MT but im staying home in MN until i graduate, but i was doing some lake fishing this past weekend with my buddies pole, i already have a 5wt and thats what he was using to catch some bass and smaller walleye, but i was wondering if someone could explain to me what to use as a setup? he said something about a shooting line? and a 20lb sinking leader i beleive? but any help would be thankful
Old 05-28-2012, 09:19 PM

cattech89 is a name known to allcattech89 is a name known to allcattech89 is a name known to allcattech89 is a name known to allcattech89 is a name known to allcattech89 is a name known to all
Default Re: New guy to the Sport... Help

Rookie,
While I am not the best to answer your question there are plenty of stillwater experts that will be more than willing to help.
However, I just wanted to say welcome.
So.....

It's not what I catch when I'm fishing, it's what I lose that matters to me...
----------------------------------------
Good decisions come from experience...Experience comes from bad decisions...
Old 05-28-2012, 09:47 PM

Mnflyfish is just really niceMnflyfish is just really niceMnflyfish is just really niceMnflyfish is just really nice

welcome to the forum, nice to see another from MN! What part ya from? Im in the SE corner. I cant help much with a set-up for the bigger wts but you get lots of advice from the fellers on here.
Old 05-29-2012, 02:52 PM

rookie0101 is on a distinguished road

I am in the Central part of MN a hour west of Mpls. but ya thats what i figured there will be people who know more on here then around town.
Old 05-29-2012, 03:27 PM