The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Lines

Fly Lines Let's talk about fly lines

Like Tree6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2013, 06:52 AM

mking7 is on a distinguished road
Default salt lines for 8wt BVK

I'm new to the sport, and getting new setups for mywife and me: 8wt TFO BVK rods, probably Hardy Ultralight reels (thanks to the reel forum), and finally I'm seeking line advice.

We will be going out for snook in Florida in the spring - probably will do this only once a year, we fish for pretty much anything out of the Chesapeake when we can make the trip, and we hit Massachusetts in the summer/fall for stripers. So there's a range of water temps and fish we are looking for. We are considering getting an extra spool and second line - maybe a sink tip and a floater so we have an option. Ease of casting would help, as we are not quite throwing 100' of line out just yet. We are usually in the surf.

If I was to get two types, and we were using them primarily in the surf from New England to Florida? Or would it be best to get an all-around salt line and not spring the extra $200 for the second spool setup?
Old 01-17-2013, 09:55 AM

woodrivertroutbum is just really nicewoodrivertroutbum is just really nicewoodrivertroutbum is just really nicewoodrivertroutbum is just really nice
Default Re: salt lines for 8wt BVK

Are you set on an 8wt? For fall stripers in MA I would personally go with a 9wt. Especially if you might want to fish out in the open for fall stripers and albies. I have an 8 and a 9 and use the 8 mostly in the salt ponds where I am somewhat protected from wind. I have fished the 8wt out on jetties in the wind as well but it definitely isn't as fun. Just my .02, plenty of people will tell you an 8wt is fine, and it is a 9 will just be a tad more wind friendly and have a little mor backbone to turn albies and big bass.
mcnerney likes this.
Old 01-17-2013, 11:13 AM