Maintaining a Silk Fly Line/ Bamboo wont seat

nrp5087

Reaction score
Okay so I recently bought two pfluegers and one has old silk line on it... I took it to the local fly shop and was told that it is good shape and usable so i figure ill use it and have a totally old school set up with my bamboo. What all is required for the maintenance of this line type? I bought the Animal fat stuff for the line anything else required?

Second part:
My Hardy bamboo wont seat properly... I tried using a paper towel to remove some oxidation but it is still about a 1/4 in out of the furl. Any suggestions? Last resort is take it to a pro

rockriver

Reaction score
If it's really tarnished bad, I'd try some 0000 steel wool on both sides. I'm no expert on this; so, it could be a bad idea. It's just what I'd do if I had it.

wt bash

Reaction score
Use the finest steel wool you can and take a few passes and try it, keep doing that till you have about a 1/16th of male showing. Thats done to save material for down the road oxidization and normal wear. If you've not don't it before I would seriously consider a pro but if your take your time and try refitting it constantly you should be okay.

nrp5087

Reaction score
Yes I ahve tried cleaning both ends male and female with a paper towel and Q-tips but there is still 1/4 in not seating

nrp5087

Reaction score
I got alot of oxidation out with the cotton but i need that extra little bit so Ill probably take it to an expert so I dont mess it up...

Anything about the Line?

wt bash

Reaction score