The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Lines

Fly Lines Let's talk about fly lines

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2013, 08:32 AM
deathwish

Default Atlantic salmon line help

Running 9wt BVK.What line would be best to fish atlantic salmon on mirimichi river? brand and would you go with floating,shooting tip,sinking tip?? I am new to the fly fishing sport so am a little lost with all the info online with brands ,types ect.Any help is greatly appreciated.
Old 02-01-2013, 01:59 PM

gt05254 has a brilliant futuregt05254 has a brilliant futuregt05254 has a brilliant futuregt05254 has a brilliant futuregt05254 has a brilliant futuregt05254 has a brilliant futuregt05254 has a brilliant futuregt05254 has a brilliant futuregt05254 has a brilliant futuregt05254 has a brilliant futuregt05254 has a brilliant future
Default Re: Atlantic salmon line help

Any of the nice, expensive name brand lines in a salmon/steelhead WF taper will do you just fine. Or just a standard WF line. By and large, if you are fishing the Miramichi in the summer/fall, its floating line time. Spring is for sink tips and full sinkers. Sometimes in the fall, some use sink tips. I don't.

Good luck out there,
Gary

P.S. If you would like to see lots and lots of Miramichi fishing and fly photos, go to my blog.
Old 02-01-2013, 03:04 PM

wannafish is a splendid one to beholdwannafish is a splendid one to beholdwannafish is a splendid one to beholdwannafish is a splendid one to beholdwannafish is a splendid one to beholdwannafish is a splendid one to beholdwannafish is a splendid one to behold

What Gary said. IF it was me, I'd go with possibly a Rio Gold WF9F or even a Cortland 444SL WF9F line (mint green). I think the BVK is dark green? These two lines are general purpose and the colors would go nice.
Old 02-01-2013, 08:14 PM