The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Lines

Fly Lines Let's talk about fly lines

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2013, 02:40 PM

peter hanman will become famous soon enoughpeter hanman will become famous soon enough
Default Im new to all this

I would still consider myself a beginner at the fly fishing deal and I have been researching fly lines. I was wondering if anyone could give me a crash course in good fly lines for bass and trout fishing. How important is the choice of the quality of fly line? Should I invest in some species spesific line? How can you tell the difference in a good line and bad one? When is it the quality of the lines fault and the quality of the rod? Any input would be very helpful.

Thank you all.

Peter
Old 06-16-2013, 03:10 PM

onthehunt has a spectacular aura aboutonthehunt has a spectacular aura aboutonthehunt has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Im new to all this

Peter,

There are various factors that contribute to the quality and cost of a fly line. As a newer fly angler, you do not need to purchase an $80 plus fly line. The lines core, its outer coating and the manufacturer all factor into the cost of a line. Taking care of your line, any line, will greatly extend the life of it, even a heavily used line.

Realistically, you are talking about two different tapers when you are looking for a Trout line and a Bass line. Most of your Bass flies are larger, heavier and more wind resistant. Therefore, you want a line with the majority of the grain weight towards the front or "head". This makes fly turnover easier and it also makes it easier to throw those bigger flies into a wind.

As for Trout, you could use three or four different tapers, all depending on rod, flies, waters fished, etc.

Hope this helps.
Old 06-18-2013, 01:31 PM