The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Fly Lines

Fly Lines Let's talk about fly lines

Like Tree7Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2013, 04:16 PM

gregnash will become famous soon enough
Default Newbie: Budget lines, half-weight lines, off-brands, etc.

So I am a complete newbie to fly fishing. Been doing it for about a month now and had some good luck at my local watering hole. I currently run a 5wt 9' Redington Crosswater with whatever line they loaded on it and am really sticking to Trout fishing (most of what we have in No NV/Lake Tahoe area).

While I like the rod, seems to me to be a decent med/med-fast action rod, the reel sucked in the sense of drag so I recently got an ebay special and like it so far. When I got that I happened to find a deal at my local Cabela's for their Prestige Premiere line for $40 but have yet to try it (not gotten out since).

Anyways, $40 is really the max I want to spend on a line as I don't see the need for any real specialty lines and budget-wise, the misses would kill me if I spent more than that on a regular basis as much more money goes to my 85 Land Cruiser and Mtn Biking habit (and as she says, the last thing I need is another expensive hobby).

So the question(s) stand;
- is there such thing as a decent budget line that won't break the bank? (I like to have a couple back-ups just in case)
- is there a list of half-weight lines? I would be interested in trying one but also don't want to get the wrong thing.
- Is there anything wrong with going with something like an Iridieus, Cabelas/Bass Pro Shop, Allen, Hook N Hackle, or other off-brands?
- Since I am using a 5wt setup, what would happen if I went with half-weight line or uplined?